Rio Fever!

Rio Fever!

This week I’ve been watching a lot of the Olympics and reading a lot about the sexism that some journalists feel is tainting the event.

We’ve had female athletes referred to in terms of their sporting other halves, “the wife of…”, and comments on the attire of female athletes.  Can someone please remind me that this is 2016 where all people, irrespective of gender, ethnicity, religion, and sexual orientation, should be treated equally.

I don’t remember the age that I first realised men had dominance in sporting coverage, but once I did it became glaringly obvious. And this isn’t some female rant about equality in sport, it’s more than that, it’s me wanting equality for everyone.

I brought Little Bear into the world in 2014, 28 years after my own entrance, and really, what has changed? Yes there is more coverage of female sports, yes there are a few openly gay competitors, but in the grand scheme of the Olympic Games coverage it still feels a little outdated, a little forced from some media, and still bigoted from others.

I want my Little Bear to be raised in an accepting world, and surely sport has the pedestal to achieve this?  You’ve made progress world…but keep at it!

Leave a Reply

