I Bought a Bag

I Bought a Bag

I know, I know, it’s not exactly earth shattering news…except, it kind of is!  Aside from changing bags, children’s rucksacks, suitcases, and the odd clutch, I haven’t bought myself a new handbag for years.

You know how it goes, baby comes along so you buy a fancy changing bag with more pouches and pockets than a…a thing with lots of pouches and pockets, and this becomes your life bag since, well, you aren’t going anywhere without baby for a while are you?  Then the bottles stopped, I needed less baby crap, and I went back to my old faithful favourite bag…which ultimately ended up resembling a thin strip of material useful for nothing!

Clutch bags arrived in their plenty for nights out – more bags than nights if truth be told, and I usually use the same one.  A rucksack arrived for spare clothes when potty training started.  And I remained big bagless.

So this week I took the plunge and bought myself a nice big bag.  The type that you can loose stuff in for years on end, that you only remember about when it goes through an airport scanner and you play “guess the object”, stuff that comes out covered in fluff of a colour you’ve never owned.

And yet, I’m finding my bag laying empty.  I shove my purse in Little Bear’s rucksack, I’m not going to take two bags out with me.  And when I do use it, I’m not sure I’ll be able to hoard in the old way…or perhaps that’s wishful thinking, it will probably be bursting at the seams by Christmas.

But here is my point, yes there is one I promise, my point is that two and a half years into motherhood, I feel ready to own my own bag again.  Preschool and football are giving me time to myself in a way I’ve not had for a while, he needs less and less stuff, and…here’s the big one, I’m going away for a weekend soon without Little Bear (🎺🤗) and pockets/clutch bags just won’t cut it for that!


Leave a Reply

