The Volume Has Broken

The Volume Has Broken

Is it just a fact that the volume control of a three year old is non-existent?  Or am I just lucky to be experiencing such deafening bouts of play?

Since turning three I’m fairly sure that Little Bear has become much more animated and, let’s put this politely, passionate about his play.  There are lots of ninjas, super villains, and baddies, and to counter them are goodies armed with lightsabres and super-batman (my personal favourite) with his ability to knock down anyone in his path – both literally and metaphorically.

And with these characters comes “The Voice”.  “The Voice” is a snarl, a growl, and gritted teeth, and it’s all played out at cinematic volumes. Quite frankly, it’s a little disconcerting, and nearly impossible to understand at times.

Where did the quiet child who would use squeaky voices in play go?  Where did the child who would sit quietly and build go? And where oh where did my earplugs go?!?!

In truth, I know where that little boy is.  He’s still here.  He’s still shining through most of the day.  I know that this new form of play is just him expressing himself and modelling what he sees elsewhere.  And I know that, in reality, we only lose the volume control for small portions of the day.  But those are the times that stick aren’t they?

You forget the hour you spent together quietly building with lego before pre-school, you forget the unprompted “thank yous”, the unasked for kisses, the intelligent and witty comments.  You forget that he’s just a three old, doing three year old things, at three year old volumes.

Little Bear, I’m sorry I get cross with your loud and passionate play.  I’m sorry that I forget the amazing things you do. And I’m sorry neighbours, the sound proofing is on order!

Leave a Reply

